Pros vs. Average Joe's

bigd

Silver Member
Curious as to what do you believe separates the professional drummer from the average joe drummer ? I'm not talking about luck being at the right place right time. I'm talking playing wise. What are the essential playing elements that are superior in the professional?

I've no idea. I'm a professional drummer and I know plenty of hobbyists who could play circles around me... yet here I am, paying the bills by playing the gigs.

I have a hard time separating the pros from the pappa jo's.

I think that most professional drummers know how to get along with others. They exercise diplomacy and know that business and art sometimes require personal "sacrifices" in order to put the band, the artist and the music in the best possible light. Work ethic is a huge plus also. That's not to say your Average Joe doesn't have any of those qualities, but knowing how to be part of a team and bringing something constructive to the table is essential.

A major difference between the pro and not is the ability to play simple things perfectly.

pro's get paid, joes don't.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/professional

I'd say a lot of what many consider professionals is partly skill and yes being in the right place at the right time. Once you get "in" the networking possibilities are endless as long as you get along well with others and don't upset the apple cart if you will.

Timing
Tone
Technique
Taste
Turning up on Time
Total ease with sight reading
Terrific sounding tom-toms....

Really, it comes to confidence.

Many records and gigs one only needs to know a handful of beats and a few fills to play what is required. Most anyone beyond a beginner could technically play the required beats in many musical situations.