PDA

View Full Version : Congas???

WYdrummer09
01-20-2009, 05:07 AM
What is the standard set up for congas if you only use two drums?

Quinto (11") Conga (11 3/4")
Quinto (11") Tumba (12 1/2")
Conga (11 3/4") Tumba (12 1/2")

I know this sounds like a noob question. but i've been a drummer/percussionist for the past 12 years now. but i've only really been taught the following catagories...

drum set (jazz, latin, funk, rock, ect.)
marching
orchestral
mallet

I have been working on learning and building up a collection of world percussion instruments.

GRUNTERSDAD
01-20-2009, 05:13 AM
I have been looking at Congas for a long time, thinking of buying and the websites I have seen have all had many combinations of two. 11 and 12, 10.5 and 11.5, 11.5 and 12.5 etc.

Garvin
01-20-2009, 02:30 PM
Generally, if you are playing with only two, you'd have a conga and tumba. There is no rule for this though. If you'd rather have a quinto and tumba, you'll just have a greater interval between the two, or tune the tumba up a bit. If playing in a group, you'll find higher pitched drums help carry over the band a bit, in which case, quinto and conga would be preferable. Just depends on the gig really.

mrchattr
01-20-2009, 04:17 PM
Garvin pretty much nailed it. However, if you are just looking to start with hand percussion, you will probably end up getting a more beginner set (something like the LP Aspire Congas, which are a good way to start). The beginner sets are generally a 10" and 11" with a stand.

If you are just getting into hand percussion, I would actually recommend starting with a djembe, though. I find they are more universal, easier to learn, and have less of the standard "conga" sound to them, which people identify with certain types of music.

Garvin
01-20-2009, 05:03 PM
AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHH!!!!!