PDA

View Full Version : Using hi-hat as a 'cymbal'

bd50
12-10-2008, 07:14 AM
hi everyone,, newbie to the forum,,,

i saw my neighbor's tama set,, and he's using an extra pair of hi-hats as actual cymbals,, on 2 separate stands,,, like 2 small splashes i guess.

they don't sound too bad,, but i'm no pro here.

is this commonplace? does anyone here use hi hats as actual cymbals- if you happen to have extra ones lying around doing nothing??

what are the pros/cons to doing this?

Nodiggie
12-10-2008, 07:24 AM
Welcome to the forum.

Besides not sounding very good as a crash/splash...they will probably break a lot sooner than they would being used as hi hats.

Tom Sawyer
12-10-2008, 07:29 AM
Yes, I use my hihats as actual cymbals. Quite a lot, really.

I do not use them as crashes though, no.

oops
12-10-2008, 07:30 AM
You can do whatever you want.

I've heard of people using 2 16" crashes as hihats, the only real problem with this is placement.

Using one half of a hihat as a crash wouldn't be too bad, as long as you like the sound. I'd assume it would make for a pretty heavy crash.

caddywumpus
12-10-2008, 05:29 PM
I have a really light pair of high hats that I COULD use as crashes if I wanted. They sound pretty good as crashes--not too heavy at all. Most of my other hats are heavier, and quite clangy if used as crashes. I guess if they sound good, a cymbal is a cymbal, right?

If I were on craigslist or eBay and listed a pair of hi hats, and remarked that I used one or both cymbals as crashes, I wouldn't expect to get very much for them. Just something to consider...

mind_drummer
12-10-2008, 05:47 PM
I thought hi-hat were cymbals ????

cjbee
12-10-2008, 06:45 PM
Do what you want...there's no rules in drumming.

Green_Shoes
12-10-2008, 06:51 PM
I did try this once but the hi-hats sounded terrible apart (didn't sound amazing together) so just give it a shot and see what sound you can get.