PDA

View Full Version : Free Pro-Mark Sticks


Ozzy Biz
09-25-2006, 05:39 AM
I did quick search and couldn't find anything on this, so...

Yesterday I checked out the Pro Mark site (promark-stix.com), but was greeted with a nice suprise when the page loaded. The page said something along the lines of "here at Pro Mark, we randomly select people who access our site and send them a pair of 5A Stinger sticks", and I'm paraphrasing of course. I just had to fill out a form saying my name, address, email and I will supposedly have a new pair of sticks arriving in the mail sometime in the next month. Just thought I'd let everyone know, I thought it was pretty cool.

Biz

dynastychild
09-26-2006, 03:47 AM
yea my friend said that happened to him and he showed me the stix but i didnt believe him but wow i guess he wasnt lying.....

Ozzy Biz
09-26-2006, 04:02 AM
Yeah, I'm pretty stoked about it. Now I just have to play the waiting game...
Biz

Class A Drummer
09-26-2006, 04:07 AM
wow. Is it legit? if so, im gonna go on there like 500 times in a row until i get that popup thingy. You better let us know if u actually get the sticks man

jazzsnob
09-26-2006, 04:08 AM
Have fun with the spam.

adamjames
09-26-2006, 04:10 AM
i was just on the site. I didn't see anything.

rendezvous_drummer
09-26-2006, 05:42 AM
Have fun with the spam.
haha no kidding eh? That's what it sounds like to me. I've been on the pro-mark website MANY times and nothing has come up.

Ozzy Biz
09-26-2006, 06:54 AM
It wasn't a pop-up window. It was the Pro-Mark site, it had all of their credentials at the bottom and everything. After I submitted the my info, it forwarded me to the survey page, where there are surveys you can fill out about your drumming and the sticks you use, etc. I actually received an email from Jessica Alexander at Pro-mark this morning (it was a proper Pro-Mark company email with the info attached at the bottom), confirming my postal address. I'm convinced, and besides, I live in a rural town in Australia. Heck, most major drum companies won't even send catalogues/stickers out here, let alone some little company with spam.
I'll post pics when they arrive in a month (or I'll look like an idiot if they don't. :p)
Biz

jazzsnob
09-26-2006, 07:16 AM
The internet is a terrible, scary place my friend. Be careful.

Good luck if it's legit, of course.

somedrummer
09-26-2006, 08:13 AM
Well, I just went to the site, clicked refresh once, and got that page. So I put in my info, replete with secondary email adress, and so I guess there's free sticks on the way.

konaboy
09-30-2006, 03:39 AM
I got the same thing a few weeks ago and blew it off. Might be a little jealous if I could have gotten free sticks. Then again maybe I just avoided getting another 50 spam
e-mails, junk mail and phone solicitations out the wazoo.

Let us know if you get the sticks!

Bluewolf
10-14-2006, 06:58 AM
I got that page too. I just got my sticks today.

radiofriendlyunitshifter
10-15-2006, 06:14 AM
i refreshed the promark home page about 10 times to get the page... it's worth a free pair of sticks.

rendezvous_drummer
10-15-2006, 06:25 AM
I CAN'T GET THE PAGE!!

radiofriendlyunitshifter
10-15-2006, 06:28 AM
I CAN'T GET THE PAGE!!

keeeeeeep refreshing...

rendezvous_drummer
10-15-2006, 06:29 AM
keeeeeeep refreshing...
I tried.....oh lord how I tried haha. Wonder what kind of sticks they are? Anyone know?

radiofriendlyunitshifter
10-15-2006, 06:34 AM
"5a stinger"





.

.

rendezvous_drummer
10-15-2006, 06:52 AM
Alright it's been 30+ refreshes and no page. Ever seen a grown man cry?

somedrummer
10-15-2006, 07:48 AM
Ahh, I forgot to mention, I got my sticks a few days ago. Also 5A "Stinger"s.

I get the feeling it was just some kind of promotion, so it's probably over by now, not to burst your bubble, Rendezvous.

rendezvous_drummer
10-15-2006, 07:53 AM
Ahh, I forgot to mention, I got my sticks a few days ago. Also 5A "Stinger"s.

I get the feeling it was just some kind of promotion, so it's probably over by now, not to burst your bubble, Rendezvous.
Can you pass me a tissue?

somedrummer
10-15-2006, 08:07 AM
Can you pass me a tissue?

Surely, just tell me where to ship it to.

Postage will be a weight of ...lets see...0.0lbs?

rendezvous_drummer
10-15-2006, 08:37 AM
Surely, just tell me where to ship it to.

Postage will be a weight of ...lets see...0.0lbs?
Sure, with that could you send me your free sticks?!

BudoMan
10-16-2006, 02:55 AM
The Promark free stick promo is real. I just received a pair of hickory 5As two months ago. I logged onto the Promark website to see what has changed in 20 years since I played white oak 808s and I got the window saying I won a free pair of sticks. I thought that was pretty cool, so I emailed back to thank them. They sent a personal reply. The pair of sticks, some stickers and a catalog came in the mail about two weeks later.

Few companies give anything away for free nowadays, let alone without fanfare. Promark however seems to be both quiet and sincere in rewarding loyal customers just for visiting its website. I appreciate it and their products, so will stick with Promark another 20 years.

DamoSyzygy
10-16-2006, 10:00 AM
It is definitely legit... I just emailed Maury Brochstein with the contents of this thread and he confirms it. What a nice gesture!

I am sending a copy of your question to Pat who heads our web site. We have our site set that it will randomly say “You have won a pair of TX5AST “Stingers”. Pat will confirm if he has indeed “won” a pair of sticks!

Have a great day!

Warmest regards,
Maury

If you cant get the page to come up with the offer, bare in mind that where you live may play a part. I wouldnt expect them to freight me a pair of sticks to Australia, but its a nice gesture all the same

Go Promark!

DamoSyzygy
10-17-2006, 02:41 AM
...And here is Pat's reply
__________________________________________________ _________________
Damo,
If you want to cut and paste my reply ( below ) and add it to the thread, I'm fine with it.

"The stick give-away is, indeed, legitimate. And, if anyone gets the random sign-up page, they can be sure that we don't share their information with anyone. No, we don't publicize it. It's just a little something we do that's fun, as well as surprising for visitors to our site."
Pat Brown
Director of Sales/Marketing
ProMark Corp.
__________________________________________________ __________________

Ozzy Biz
10-17-2006, 02:58 AM
I wouldnt expect them to freight me a pair of sticks to Australia, but its a nice gesture all the same

Go Promark!

Well, I'm hoping they do. Mine are apparently in the mail (6 weeks they say, it's been 4 now). I recieved an email to confirm my mailing address, so I presume they're on the way.

Biz

Ozzy Biz
04-30-2007, 06:27 AM
I just remembered this thread.
My free Pro-Mark sticks did came, and they felt great for the day that they lasted. Now, these are slightly bigger than the sticks I'm used to (Vater New Orleans and Stewart Copeland Standards) and I normally get months out of one of those pairs. The Pro-Marks snapped right in the middle after a rimshot. I've never doe that before. Probably won't ever again now I'm playing solely Vater again.
Sorry for rising this from the dead, but I thought it needed a conclusion.

radiofriendlyunitshifter
04-30-2007, 04:49 PM
i got mine as well. mine lasted quite a bit longer than yours, ozzy biz, so i'm going to go out on a limb and say you received a defective stick?

although they are pretty thin...

hauk
05-05-2007, 05:06 AM
It wasn't a pop-up window. It was the Pro-Mark site, it had all of their credentials at the bottom and everything. <cut> I actually received an email from Jessica Alexander at Pro-mark this morning (it was a proper Pro-Mark company email with the info attached at the bottom), confirming my postal address.
Biz

Just a note, you shouldn't go by that alone to determine if an email is phishing, etc. It's very easy to copy that stuff and make an email (or web page) look legit. A much better method is to hover over links and make sure they go where they say they do

Ozzy Biz
05-05-2007, 05:31 AM
Just a note, you shouldn't go by that alone to determine if an email is phishing, etc. It's very easy to copy that stuff and make an email (or web page) look legit. A much better method is to hover over links and make sure they go where they say they do

Yeah, I know that. I did check the 'properties' of the links before I clicked on them. I was a bit skeptical when it first popped up. It was 8 months ago however, so there's no real need to worry about it.

hauk
05-06-2007, 07:14 AM
Okay, just throwing it out there in case.

gusty
05-06-2007, 07:23 AM
can u still get a pair of sticks? im on the site now, refreshing...

Ozzy Biz
05-06-2007, 07:24 AM
can u still get a pair of sticks? im on the site now, refreshing...

I''m certain the promotion is over. It was 8 months ago.

tabletapper
05-07-2007, 01:10 AM
I had a free pair of sticks sent to the U.K in December 2006.